THE MINUTES OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE OF THE ACADEMIC SENATE CALIFORNIA STATE UNIVERSITY, FRESNO 5240 North Jackson Avenue, M/S UC43 Fresno, California 93740-8023

Office of the Academic Senate FAX: 278-5745

Telephone: 278-2743 (EC-14)

April 7, 2008

Members Present: Mike Botwin, Michael Caldwell, Manuel

Figueroa, Gena Gechter, Russel Statham

(student), President Welty.

Members Absent: Jacinta Amaral (excused), Jeronima Echeverria

(excused), Harald Schweizer (excused), Lynn

Williams (excused).

Visitors: B. Fasse, S. Hayes.

The meeting was called to order at 3:10 p.m. by Chair Botwin in the University Center, Room #203.

- 1. Minutes. MSC to approve the Minutes of 3/10/08.
- 2. Agenda. MSC to approve the Agenda as distributed.
- 3. Communications and Announcements. (Anyone wishing a copy of the items distributed or discussed, please contact the Academic Senate Office).

Senate/Committee Item

A. An email (3/19/08) from Russel D. Statham, Vice President for Finance, (ASI) to Faculty Senators, re: A Proclamation Honoring Mr. Pete Prestegard, Presented by the Executive Committee of Associated Students, Inc., was received.

Chair Botwin remarked that Mr. Prestegard recently passed away.

B. A memorandum (3/10/08) from Elise Rodriguez, Academic Senate Office to Michael Botwin Chair, Academic Senate, re: Forthcoming Nominating/Elections Committee Vacancies was received. Executive Session today – postponed.

Action Items

C. A memorandum (3/11/08) from Miguel A. Perez, Ph.D., CHES, Chair Graduate Committee to Michael Botwin, Chair, Academic Senate, re: Interim Standards for Continuation and Procedures for Termination of a Graduate Program (APM 223) was received.

Executive Committee Agenda, 4/14/08

D. A memorandum (3/27/08) from Brian Tsukimura, Chair Personnel Committee to Michael Botwin, Chair, Academic Senate, re: Policy on Faculty Leaves of Absence (APM 361) was received.

Executive Committee Agenda, 4/14/08

E. A memorandum (3/27/08) from Brian Tsukimura, Chair Personnel Committee to Michael Botwin, Chair, Academic Senate, re: Policy on Faculty Consultation on Voting (APM 114) was received.

Executive Committee Agenda, 4/14/08

F. An email (3/27/08) from David Moll, Assistant Vice President Risk Management & Sustainability to Michael Botwin, Chair, Academic Senate, re: Two (2) Faculty Members to serve on the Subcommittee on Campus Sustainability, has been received.

Executive Session today.

Information Items

- G. President Welty announced that the University will be presenting an honorary doctorate to Pete Peters.
- H. Bill Fasse announced on behalf of the Provost that on May 1, 2008 Karen Carey will be assuming her position as Dean of Graduate Studies and Andrew Rodgers will become the Dean of Science and Math on May 1, 2008. In addition, the Provost will deliver responses to the Budget Committee on Wednesday, April 9, 2008 regarding budget from Deans.

4. Executive Session.

MSC to move into Executive Session to discuss personnel matters. (3:22 p.m. – 3:34 p.m.)

7. Returned to Open Session. (3:35 p.m.)

MSC to forward the following recommendations for committee vacancies:

<u>Campus Planning Committee - Subcommittee on Campus Sustainability</u>

Andrew R. Jones (Sociology) Madhusudan Katti (Biology)

MSC to adjourn at 3:39 p.m.

The next meeting of the Executive Committee will be announced and an Agenda will be distributed prior to the meeting.

Submitted by: Approved by:

Michael Caldwell Michael Botwin Recording Secretary Chair

Academic Senate Academic Senate